Facebook directs revenge porn to prevent people from re-sharing intimate images

Facebook directs revenge porn to prevent people from re-sharing intimate imagesFacebook has put into practice a new technology that was photo-matching to ascertain people refrain from resharing images reported previously and tagged as revenge porn when intimate photos of people were shared without consent. It means if people try sharing a photo on Facebook that was taken previously, the person will see a pop-up informing that the photo violates the policies of the Facebook and it will not permit the person to share that photo on Messenger, Facebook or Instagram.

This is focused because of the harm it is creating on sharing by its victims, said Antigone Davis, Facebook Global Head of Safety and he also told ‘In the newsroom post a piece of research is specified around the unique harm for victims and this was focused as it was found moving forward’.

The figure Davis referred to showed 93 percent of people getting affected by the sharing intimate imges that were non-consensual reporting “significant emotional distress” and 82 percent reported significant difficulties in their lives, as per the US Victims of Non-Consensual Intimate Images.

Facebook has enabled people for a while now to report and the language around this revenge porn is now really clear and is “very specific to these intimate images types,” Davis said. In such cases, Facebook will also deactivate the user’s account who posted the revenge porn.

Facebook has partnered also with a handful of organizations, such as the Cyber Civil Rights Initiative and the Revenge Porn Helpline, offering support people who are victims of revenge porn.

Share this post

Post Comment